Glenn Whritenour Claims Woodhull Raceway Street Stock 100 Saturday Night

Story By: KENNY SHUPP / WOODHULL RACEWAY – WOODHULL, NY – On a busy night of racing all presented by a trio of nightly sponsors including Southern Tier Customs, Superior Propane and J T Logging it was the 9th Annual Woodhull Raceway Street Stock 100 sponsored by Southern Tier Customs and finding his way to victory lane for the fifth time since its inception was Jasper, NY native and multi time Woodhull Raceway Track Champion, Glenn Whritenour.

During the first fifty lap segment, Whritenour would take command from his inside front row starting position and immediately open a sizable advantage over the second place running machine of Travis Webster with Teddy Morseman, Luke Boom and Mike Spencer in tow. Lap after lap GW would set a torrid pace and lap up to the sixth-place machine by the halfway break where crews were allowed to add fuel, cool engines, and adjust tire pressures.

During the second fifty laps it was second verse same as the first as once again Whritenour would put a half- track distance between himself and Travis Webster who was still holding down a solid second place with Morseman maintaining third.

With less than ten laps remaining and Whritenour safely in control all eyes were on the battle for second on back when the only caution of the event would fly with that coming on lap ninety-four as a piece of debris was spotted on the speedway.

On the re-start, Webster was glued to the rear trunk lid of the leading Whritenour machine with Teddy Morseman, Mike Spencer and Luke Boom still holding positions two through five with 2021 and 2022 Track Champion, Brett Crawford in sixth and when the green flag flew for the final time it was just a formality for GW who went on to claim his fifth Woodhull 100, third in a row and in doing so walked off with the Southern Tier Customs check for $2,000, a massive six foot trophy along with piles of bonus and lap money.

For Webster it was a great past month as he racked up a pair of feature wins late in the regular season along with a well-deserved runner-up spot in the Woodhull 100. Recently crowned Woodhull Street Stock Track Champion, Teddy Morseman would maintain third throughout the entire distance with Mike Spencer and Luke Boom both putting on tremendous drives to complete the top five finishers.

In the twenty lap Doug Gross Construction RUSH Crate Late Model feature, former RUSH Touring Series Champion, John Waters led the entire distance from his outside front row starting spot. 2023 Woodhull Raceway CLM Track Champ, Austin Allen would bring the field to green, but it was Waters getting the jump into turn one as he would never look back.

Three yellow flags would slow the pace and keep things bunched up, but Waters was up to the challenge on each re-start as he held Allen off the entire distance. Jason Knowles would cross the line in third with three time “23” feature winner, Steve LeBarron hitting the line in fourth with Brian Knowles rounding out the top five. The top five crossed the finish line nose to tail in a thrilling and competitive conclusion.

Scott Brown and 2023 KMD Excavation Hobby Stock Track Champion, Kaiden Dgien would bring the seventeen-car field to green for the twenty-lap feature. Yellow fever would be the name of the game for the Hobby Stocks as the caution flag would wave no less than seven times keeping the pace slowed and the field tightly bunched. However, after getting the jump on the opening green and leading every lap, Kaiden Dgien would walk away with his fifth feature win of the season. Lining up tenth on the opening grid, Jeredd Dennis would take full advantage of the numerous caution flags plus some nifty moves to power his way into the runner-up slot prior to the half way mark, but that is where his march would end as the 2022 Hobby Stock Track Champ would have to settle for second at the finish as he was chased across the line by Scott Brown who ran in with the lead group the entire distance. Fourth place would go to Joe Birdsall as he held off Brandon Birdsall who completed the top five.

The final feature event of the night would be the combined twenty lap feature for the Big Jim’s Wicked Tee’s sponsored Mini Stocks and Front Wheel Drives.

Picking up the FWD feature win in only his first appearance of the year was Joseph Gillespie as he held off Andrew Thomas and Carl O’Dell who completed the podium finishers. Aaron Robinson and Nick Brown would round the FWD field.

Like Gillespie, Tony Dickerson would also make his first trip to victory lane at Woodhull on the 2023 campaign as he came away victorious in the Wicked Tee’s Mini Stock A-Main. Finishing second to Dickerson was Willy Easling as the two top finishers were followed across the line by many time 2023 Mini Stock feature winner, Ray Hyer who came home in third. Craig Decamp and Chris Woodard would round the top five.

Congratulations to all competitors.

Up next week the Nikk L Brew Restaurant in Canisteo will present the final event of the year as the Mighty Insinger Performance Modifieds will run a special thirty lap feature paying $2,500 to the winner. The NAPA Crate Sportsman will also compete for a first-place check of $1,500. Rounding out the card will be the Doug Gross Construction RUSH Crate Late Models, Southern Tier Customs Street Stocks, KMD Excavation Hobby Stocks as well as the Big Jim’s Wicked Tee’s sponsored Mini Stock and Front Wheel Drive Divisions.

Gates for the September 23, 2023 event will find the pits opening at 2:30 pm with main grandstands an hour later at 3:30 pm. The first green flag waves at 5:30 pm.

The Annual Woodhull Raceway Banquet will then follow on Saturday, September 30 right at the racetrack.

Fans and drivers are urged to keep an eye on Facebook for more banquet details.


Southern Tier Customs, J T Logging and Superior Propane Night.

SOUTHERN TIER CUSTOMS STREET STOCK 100. $2,000 to win. (15 cars)
100 lap feature. GLEN WHRITENOUR (4), Travis Webster, Teddy Morseman, Mike Spencer, Luke Boom, Brett Crawford, Mick Seeley, Mike Williams, Joe Giardina, Josh Nobriga, Jim Buck, Jimmy Grant, Willy Easling, Branden Morseman, Jesse Tuthill

20 lap feature. JOHN WATERS (2), Austin Allen, Jason Knowles, Steve LeBarron, Brian Knowles, Brett Marlatt, Rickie Loucks, Aaron Miller, Tony Kelly, Joe Layfield, Marshall O’Brian, Dennis Loucks.

20 lap feature. KAIDEN DGIEN (5), Jeredd Dennis, Scott Brown, Joe Birdsall, Brandon Birdsall, Paul Dgien, Collin Brown, Dale Houghtaling, Mike Carapella, Meadow Dgien, Greg Young, Glenn VanCise, Stephen Knapp, Brian Austin, Hunter Williams, Clayton Mclean, Bradly Morseman.

20 lap feature. TONY DICKERSON, Willy Easling, Ray Hyer, Craig Decamp, Chris Woodard, Teddy Morseman Jr., Danielle Thomas. DNS, Zach Bruce.

20 lap feature. JOSEPH GILLESPIE, Andrew Thomas, Carl O’Dell, Aaron Robinson, Nick Brown.